in ,

Bihar Polls to be Held in 3 Phases from Oct 28; Counting of Votes on Nov 10

As per the Election Commission (EC) announcement on Sep 25, voting for Bihar assembly elections will be held in three phases — first on October 28, second on November 3 and the third on November 7 — while counting of all votes will take place on November 10, the EC announced.

Meanwhile, Announcing the poll schedule for the 243-member Bihar assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora stated that these will be one of the biggest elections globally, to be held during the prevailing COVID-19 situation.

Moreover, He stated the world has changed significantly since the last elections, which were held for Delhi assembly and the COVID-19 pandemic has forced a new normal in every aspect of our life. He stated the voting time will be extended by one hour and votes could be cast from 7 am till 6 pm, except for in the Left Wing Extremism-affect areas.

COVID-19 patients can vote in the last hour of the day, Arora added. He also stated that special protocols have been readied for voters who are COVID-positive patients. The EC said, 7 lakh hand sanitisers, 46 lakh masks, 6 lakh PPE kits, 6.7 lakh face shields and 23 lakh pairs of hand gloves have been arranged for Bihar polls.

Besides, postal ballot facility will be provided wherever required and requested. Social distancing norms will need to be followed at public gatherings during the poll campaign. The Chief Election Commissioner further stated anyone using social media for mischievous purposes, such as for flaring communal tension, during elections will have to face consequences, while hate speech will be also dealt with harshly by the EC.

Despite the same, The number of phases for 243-member Bihar assembly polls has been reduced keeping in mind security arrangements and festive season, among other factors, he added. Voting for the first phase on October 28 will cover 71 assembly constituencies, while the second-phase voting on November 3 will cover 94 seats. The third phase of voting on November 7 will cover 78 assembly seats. Counting of votes for all seats will take place on November 10.

Author: Trilok Singh, Currently Studies Masters in Mass Communication & Journalism at International School of Media and Entertainment Studies, News 24 Campus. MA in Political Science, Kirori Mal College, University of Delhi. Currently, CEO at Youth Darpan MediaIASmind and India’s Journal.

The views and opinions expressed by the writer are personal and do not necessarily reflect the official position of VOM.
This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!

What do you think?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.